"Grrrr! Impetuous boy! Ah, well; who wants to live forever?" - retrofuturism/Flash Gordon-esque/space fantasy-adjacent pulp nonsense

Best Selling RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com

Billy Bones

Decepticon
Reaction score
I've been thinking about this for ages but only now had the nerves to post something up about it for fear of mad, incredulous ridicule and/or pictures of querulous geese.

If the idea of fighting off cassette-powered pirate robots with nothing but a worn shortsword and an old flintlock pistol gets your bits and pieces going, then this might be the place for you.

I've been writing my own stuff for a couple of years now, but I think I would like to fold some of it into a new setting, and one with more pairs of eyes on it than just me. I've said it before on other threads, that I love the idea of collaborating on a long-standing project and the excellent thread on genre flavours showed it would be great to work more closely with people with similar interests.

I'm not particularly beholden to anything in particular, I'd just like to be able to bounce ideas off of someone else and see where the prose takes us.

If this is of interest to anyone give me a shout. If it ain't, give me the geese I can take it.

Yeah, retro-futuristic Flash Gordon sounds awesome. Personally, I think I'd pick a pretty light and/or cinematic rule set to work with. Something OSR, or maybe PbtA or light d100. I don't think it's an idea that would benefit in any real way from high crunch rules. The immediate picture I have of what this could fee like is sort of DCC space opera gonzo (except maybe not with the DCC rules set). Honestly Troika would be a perfect fit but it's not everyone's cup of tea.

Yeah, retro-futuristic Flash Gordon sounds awesome. Personally, I think I'd pick a pretty light and/or cinematic rule set to work with. Something OSR, or maybe PbtA or light d100. I don't think it's an idea that would benefit in any real way from high crunch rules.